Press Releases

New Year Pita Cutting Ceremony 2010

During a warm and elegant  ceremony the Board of Governors and the members of the International Propeller Club of the United States, International Port of Piraeus, cut their ‘pitta’. The event,took place on Sunday,January 17, 2010 at the Grande Bretagne Hotel.

The event was opened by the Secretary General of the Propeller Club, Mrs.D. Foros-Tsirozidis and the Minister of the Economy, Shipping and Competitiveness, Mrs.Louka Katseli,   extended warm greetings and wishes to the members for the New Year and elaborated thoroughly Greek Maritime issues in her speech.
The Economic Counselor of the United States Embassy  in Greece, Mr.Paul Malik, welcomed the audience and expressed New year wishes .

Following, the board of Governors along with the Minister and U.S Embassy Counselors  cut the ‘Pitta’ . Right after, Mr.John Kalafatides, Deputy Treasurer of the Propeller Club, took the podium and invited the Minister Mrs.Katselli to present the 1st scholarship check to Panagiotis Lefantzis, Graduate of Merchant Marine Academy of Aspropyrgos.

Mr.Miller, Counselor for Public Affairs of the United States Embassy to Greece, presented a scholarship check to the student Vassiliki Tressou from the University of Piraeus and Mr.Markos Foros, President of Greek Shipowners association for passenger ships and V.P. of the International Propeller Club, U.S.A., Board of Governors delivered a check to Esther Markaki , student of the American College of Greece.

The event continued with the presentation of monetary awards to the winners of the countrywide essay contest which is announced every year on the occasion of the Day of Greek Merchant Marine through the Greek Ministry of Education.

1st winner of countrywide high school essay contest is Xrysanthi Papoutsidaki ,  from the 21st High School of Patra, monetrary award of 1.500 Euros in memory of ANTONIS CHANDRIS, presented by Mr.Markos Foros.
2nd winner of high school essay contest  is  Nikolaos Vlastos from the High School of Ag.Efstratios,Lesvos, award ( 1.000 Euros )  presented by the representative of the Hellenic Coast Guard, Commodore Mr.Apostolos Spentzas.
3rd winner  of high school essay contest is Markos Despotidis from the High School of Amorgos,award ( 500 Euros) presented  by Mr.Xiradakis, Board Member of the Propeller Club and Coordinator of Maritime Committee.

Cpt. Panayiotis Tsakos, Founder of Tsakos Group and top supporter of  AMVER Program and the Propeller Club, presented a scholarship check to Kyriakos Tsiligkrian Sideriadis, student of the Shipping  Dpt.of the  Aegean University located in the island of Chios . Mr.Apostolos Doucas, Regional Vice President for Southern Europe and Africa of the International Propeller Club presented a scholarship check to Mrs.Lydia Legaki, member of the Board of Trustees of the American Farm School.

Mr.Faraklas,  Treasurer of the Propeller Club presented a scholarship check to Fulbright Foundation Mrs.Paraskevopoulou Christina.

Vassiliki Tressou, was the lucky recipient  of the golden coin  of  2010  Popeller Club Pitta.

Finally, the dancing group of the American College of Greece contributed cheerfully to the entertainment showing their excellent skills once more . The event closed with a buffet reception.

Apart the officials mentioned above, present among numerous Propeller Club members  were, former presidents of the Propeller Club , Mr. V. Katrantzos,  ,Mr.A. Skondras and members of the board of Governors of P.C. , Mr.C. Constantinou , Mr.S. Costopoulos, Mr.T.Kontes, Mr K. Koutsoubelis, Mr.K.Rokkos Mr. G. Timagenis ,Mr. D. Zorbalas. Mr. G.Katsakos, Deputy Master of the Merchant Marine Academy of Aspropyrgos, Mr. N.Xaidoulis, Lieutenant officer of the Hellenic Coast Guard. Representatives of the Academic Institutions , Mr. N. Nikitakos of the Aegean University, Dr. D. Horner with Mrs Horner , President of the American College of Greece, Mr. Vlachos of the University of Piraeus, Mrs.Julius, Mr.Phylactopoulos from the International Centre for Hellenic and Mediterranean studies. Mr.Tegopoulos, Mr.G. Dikeos Mrs.L. Batler, Mrs. K. Angelis, Mr.Pakis ,Mr.A. Mally, Mr. J. Veymos.